Marriage License

Marriage License Application Information
for Weddings performed in Wisconsin 

EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY!

The Pierce County Clerk's office will issue Marriage Licenses by appointment only.

The following documents must be submitted to our office prior to scheduling your appointment:

Marriage License Application
Open the Marriage License Application and save a copy to your computer, use that copy to complete your application and forward to our office.

Photo ID and Proof of Residency
Valid Driver's License/State ID that shows your residential address for the last 30 days. If your Driver's License/State ID does not have your correct address, you must also provide other proof such as utility statement, telephone bill, or other posted mail that must be over 30 days old as well as the ID.

Certified Birth Certificate
Certified birth certificates typically have a raised seal or are printed on security paper.

Last Previous Marriage Documents, if applicable
Regardless of how long it's been since your last marriage ended, Wisconsin law requires proof of how your last marriage ended. If by divorce, the judgment of divorce signed by the judge is required. If by death, a certified death certificate is needed. If by legal annulment, certified copy of the legal annulment. An annulment issued by a church or religious organization is not acceptable.

Please submit all the applicable items listed above approximately one month prior to your ceremony.  Documents may be sent via email, cyndi.kern@co.pierce.wi.us or fax to 715-273-6861.  Once our office has received all appropriate documentation, you will be contacted to schedule an appointment to obtain the proper signatures prior to your ceremony.  Both applicants must be present for signatures and all documents provided with the application must be presented at the appointment to validate their authenticity.

Local Officiants

FAQ'S

Where Do I Apply?
A Wisconsin resident getting married in Wisconsin must apply at the County Clerk’s office in which one of the applicants has been living for the last 30 days.

If you are getting married in Wisconsin but neither of the applicants has lived in Wisconsin for the past 30 days, you would apply in the County Clerk’s office in the county where the ceremony will take place.
Is there an age requirement?
Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry if otherwise competent.  If a person is between the ages of 16 and 18, the license will be issued only with written consent of parents, guardian or custodian.  Parents must be present at the appointment to complete consent forms.
What is the cost of a license?
The cost of a marriage license in Pierce County is $80.  We accept checks and cash.  Credit and Debit cards are also welcome; however, there is an additional processing fee.
Who can perform a marriage ceremony?
Wis. Stats. 765.16: Marriage contract, how made; officiating person.

(1m) Marriage may be validly solemnized and contracted in this state only after a marriage license has been issued therefor, and only by the mutual declarations of the 2 parties to be joined in the marriage that they take each other as husband and wife, made before an authorized officiating person and in the presence of at least 2 competent adult witnesses other than the officiating person. The following are authorized to be officiating persons:

  • Any ordained member of the clergy of any religious denomination or society who continues to be an ordained member of the clergy.
  • Any licentiate of a denominational body or an appointee of any bishop serving as the regular member of the clergy of any church of the denomination to which the member of the clergy belongs, if not restrained from so doing by the discipline of the church or denomination.
  • The 23 parties themselves, by mutual declarations, that they take each other as husband and wife, in accordance with the customs, rules and regulations of any religious society, denomination or sect to which either of the parties may belong.
  • Any judge of a court of record or a reserve judge appointed under s. 753.075.
  • Any circuit court commissioner appointed under SCR 75.02 (1) or supplemental court commissioner appointed under s. 757.675 (1).
  • Any municipal judge.

(2m) An officiating person under sub. (1m) (a), (b), (d), (e), or (f) must be at least 18 years old.

Applicants are responsible for determining their chosen officiant is compliant with Wisconsin State Statutes. Applicants must determine whether or not they meet the statutory requirement for self-marriage. If couples have questions regarding the legality of their officiant or self-marriage, contact legal counsel.
Will you accept my document if they are not in English?
Required documents in a language other than English must be translated to English with a notarized English translator. Translation cannot be done by the applicants themselves or by relatives or friends of the applicants. Applicants must make their own arrangements prior to applying.